Message from the Superintendent

Espanol | Tieng Viet

I am always excited to hear about our leaders taking the helm of the instructional focus on our campuses and creating an environment where our teachers can meet the needs of our students. Taylor High School Principal Mary Williams is leading the way as she works with her English teachers to ensure that our students know their strengths and struggles with their writing skills. As I visited with the Taylor High School instructors in the English department, they focused on what they needed to do to support their students in being successful at a high level with their writing. The students could even explain what they needed to do to improve! 

Recently, Sneed Principal Creegan, Liestman Principal Galindo, Landis Principal Upshaw, Collins Principal Cunningham, Hearne Principal Sanchez, Best Principal Clark, and Boone Principal Molinaro took the initiative and united to address a common need! They collaborated to align practices in curriculum, instruction, and assessment and presented to their colleagues to support everyone in meeting our students’ needs. The demonstration of these leaders embodies pillar #1 of our strategic plan: Student Achievement. 

We celebrated our first Elementary and Secondary Principals of the Year this week. Early College Principal Dr. Brandi Brotherton will represent secondary schools and Kennedy Elementary Principal Sara Caldwell will represent elementary schools. They will go on to represent us on the regional level and if I know our leaders like I believe I know them, they will go on to compete at the state level. Student achievement is one of our five strategic pillars, so our focus on student learning is essential. Our leaders are pivotal in supporting our students and classroom teachers with helping ALL students thrive in our schools.  

The Vype Spring edition has arrived! Check out the latest edition of the magazine here.

In this episode of ImpactED, the official podcast of Alief ISD, Business and Community Partnership Coordinator Dee Jones speaks with Dr. Karen Jacobs and Shannon McNary about the numerous scholarships that CITGO provides to Alief ISD students.

The district is transitioning to a new version of our newsletter, and we want to bring you along with us! Please sign up HERE to stay updated with all things Alief ISD! 


Congratulations to Mrs. Kristyn Cathey, our Chief of Communications and Public Relations, on being elected as the 2024-2025 Texas Schools Public Relations Association (TSPRA) President-Elect. We are very proud of her accomplishments and we know her outstanding leadership skills will surely shine in this new role. She will be installed as the president during next year’s TSPRA conference. 

Nathan Kongolo is a four-year member of the Taylor boys’ basketball team and has served as the team captain for three of those years. Nathan recently became only the third player in Taylor history to score over 1000 points. Nathan has been named a scholar athlete (December) and was voted to the first team all-district basketball team as a junior. 

Ethan Caro and Diego Salgado, students from Kerr HS Band, performed at the Texas Music Educators Association (TMEA) Convention in San Antonio. Ethan Caro made 1st Chair Bass Trombone in the Association of Texas Small School Band (ATSSB) All-State Jazz Band. Diego Salgado made 2nd Chair Tuba at Area and earned a position in the 4A All-State Band.

Share your Alief ISD good news here.

Looking forward